top of page

New Labour Codes in India: Changes and Impact

Updated: Apr 14, 2021

With the main objective of simplifying labour laws and the government's focus on "ease of doing business" in India, the Indian government is all set to amalgamate 29 existing labour laws into four distinct new labour codes.

These (new) labour codes are grouped into the following four categories:

  • Wages

  • Social Security

  • Industrial Relations

  • Occupational Safety, Health and Working Conditions

With these labour codes, certain existing practices and methodologies will change, rules will be simplified and others removed, registrations will become mandatory but also simpler and penalties for non-compliances will increase. Our brief assessment of the major provisions is presented below.

Download our assessment of the New Labour Codes below

_BTG Legal_ New Labour Codes in India w_
Download • 1.19MB


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page